COMMON RUIN

“Ars longa, vita brevis”

My Final Word on “Cultural Marxism”

...As it's commonly portrayed.

…As it’s commonly presented.

**NOTE 1/22: This paper has undergone several revisions since it was originally posted, so if you downloaded it previously, please consider doing so again**

Given the varied response my blog post “On the Myth of Cultural Marxism” elicited from reactionaries and revolutionaries alike in 2014, I thought it appropriate to begin the new year with a paper elaborating my thoughts on the controversial subject. It retains aspects of the blog post, but I have refined my thesis and construct it in a less polemical fashion. The paper, entitled “The Origins and Ideological Function of Cultural Marxism,” is not intended as an exhaustive refutation of the conspiracy, but should instead be read as one man’s contribution to the broader project of debunking the myth.

As with all my work, it can either be downloaded here or on my academia.edu profile. Feedback is always welcome.

ABSTRACT:
As a consequence of the right’s elitist conception of history, conspiracy theories abound in conservative historiography and social analyses when events develop in a manner contrary to their economic and/or cultural preferences. This is especially so on the fringes of the right, among its various fascistic and religious fundamentalist sects. Whether it be a cabal of malicious Zionists seeking to subvert gentile societies in order to achieve racial hegemony, or secular humanists unwittingly fulfilling the antichrist’s unholy objectives through the promotion of non-religious educational curricula, conservative sociology is fundamentally based upon autonomous human agents directing the course of history. This applies equally to when society happens to be in accord with the values conservatives espouse; the institutional hierarchy is thought to be occupied by men of principle in these instances. Thus it is predictable that conspiratorial narratives would be fabricated in an effort to explain why the contemporary West has come to exemplify certain values and behaviors antithetical to those favored by cultural conservatives. The specific conspiracy theory this paper is intended to address is that of “cultural Marxism,” which has been gaining momentum among segments of the far right over the past decade.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “My Final Word on “Cultural Marxism”

  1. Pingback: Homepage

  2. Very interesting paper, can I convert it to text to speak and upload it to youtube?

    • Of course. I was considering editing a few sections of the paper (I’ve recently discovered more evidence which supports my thesis), but you’re certainly free to use the current version, if you’d like.

      • I have noticed something weird about right wingers.

        They support capitalism, but they hate on a small rich elite that somehow ruins capitalism. A lot of their rhetoric sounds left wing to me.

        It is strange.

  3. I did this video. got lots of down votes and comments from paranoid mental defects.

  4. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCtwl75zlSk Here is your study transcribed.

    If you have any more information debunking the cultural Marxist conspiracy theory, please share.

    I bet you think my politics are reactionary 😛

    • >”I have noticed something weird about right wingers.

      They support capitalism, but they hate on a small rich elite that somehow ruins capitalism. A lot of their rhetoric sounds left wing to me.”

      Some of the rhetoric employed by right-wingers can definitely sound vaguely leftist, e.g., when they denounce “banksters” and “global corporations,” or what have you. Many of them sincerely believe that the features of actually existing capitalism they find disagreeable stem solely from bureaucratic interference, and therefore advocate for a return to laissez-faire principles. Others who identify as ‘conservative’ unwittingly harbor left-wing values and only eschew radicalism because they’ve come to identify the left with modern liberalism. (The so-called “New Left” and reactionary political pundits precipitated the latter phenomenon.)

      >”If you have any more information debunking the cultural Marxist conspiracy theory, please share.”

      I’ll be sure to inform you when I’ve added the aforementioned new material to my paper; I think you’ll find it useful.

      >”I bet you think my politics are reactionary.”

      I honestly can’t comment on your politics, as I’ve not yet examined your writings. If you are reactionary, I invite you to enter into dialogue with me on the subject.

      I’ll be sure to watch the videos you linked to, when time permits.

      • I am a MGTOW, and pro male.

        I believe the left is now post modern feminist garbage. Just a bunch of academics naval gazing, and using deliberately obtuse jargon to confuse people, and give others the impression they are experts at something incredibly complex.

        I think the reason why the push back against feminism and anti malism has been so weak, is because it has stemmed from the right wing. The right wing are too busy scapegoating Marxists, instead of pushing back against western feminism. (I believe feminism in the first world, is a capitalist phenomenon, and a female power grab. Females discarding men and driving them from the family unit can’t be done without surplus wealth, and a wealthy state to give them the welfare to do it. )

        You most likely believe in feminism though, as most Marxists take their assertions for granted, I have only met a few Marxists who consider feminism the rightful bullshit it is.

        My interest in destroy the Cultural Marxism myth, is so that men can focus on their energy on doing something for themselves as men.

        The cultural Marxism meme is spreading in Gamer Gate, so I know those people will never get anything done.

        alex1453ad@gmail.com if you to ever do a hangout.

  5. >”I am a MGTOW, and pro male.”

    I’m not well read on the MGTOW movement, so I’m reluctant to offer an opinion on its legitimacy (or lackthereof). If being “pro-male” implies being anti-female, however, I would take issue with its doctrine.

    My ignorance of MGTOW, and the men’s rights movement more generally, stems from the fact I haven’t personally experienced injustices I feel warrant redress as a consequence of my sex.

    >”I believe the left is now post modern feminist garbage. Just a bunch of academics naval gazing, and using deliberately obtuse jargon to confuse people, and give others the impression they are experts at something incredibly complex.”

    Insofar as the term ‘leftist’ here is used to denote various contemporary progressive academicians, I agree. I would advise making a distinction between the New Left and the traditional left, though. The former (which originated on university campuses in North America and Western Europe during the 1960s) largely precipitated the phenomenon you justifiably find repellent, whereas the latter was concerned solely with advancing the cause of the proletariat in its struggle against capital. Suffice it to say, I belong to the traditional left – specifically the classical Marxist segment thereof.

    >”I think the reason why the push back against feminism and anti malism has been so weak, is because it has stemmed from the right wing. The right wing are too busy scapegoating Marxists, instead of pushing back against western feminism. (I believe feminism in the first world, is a capitalist phenomenon, and a female power grab. Females discarding men and driving them from the family unit can’t be done without surplus wealth, and a wealthy state to give them the welfare to do it.)”

    Your interpretation of feminism is analogous to that of Ernest Belfort Bax (a first generation Marxist and fierce critic of feminist theory). And while I agree that capitalism has made use of feminism – e.g., by increasing participation in the labor market exponentially, thereby suppressing wages, and contributing to capitalism’s self-legitimating ideology – I would disagree with the view that all of the claims made by feminist activists were/are without merit. Surely women deserve the same rights and responsibilities as men, and early feminists contributed much toward securing those. Where I part company with feminists is on their absurdly idealistic belief in the abstraction they refer to as “patriarchy.” Ultimately, egalitarianism – by which I mean an equality of opportunity and rights – should be what we desire in terms of social relations between the sexes.

    >”You most likely believe in feminism though, as most Marxists take their assertions for granted, I have only met a few Marxists who consider feminism the rightful bullshit it is.”

    I don’t consider myself a feminist, nor do I consider the views (some of which are clearly misandrist in orientation) espoused by the preponderance of feminist sects today defensible. ‘Gender egalitarianism’ is a term I prefer when defining my position on the matter.

  6. I haven’t got time to reply to everything, just want to quickly reply to this.

    “Surely women deserve the same rights and responsibilities as men,”

    Feminism doesn’t really advocate for that. What a political movement says, it doesn’t necessary do.

    Women have more rights than men, and less responsibilities than men.

    Women have social dominance and emotional power over men, something that is missed by most analysis of male and female roles in society.

    http://uk.businessinsider.com/women-now-control-more-than-half-of-us-personal-wealth-2015-4?r=US&IR=T

    Women will have their traditional power over men, but they will also complete with men in their domain and crush them.

Leave a Reply

