COMMON RUIN

“Ars longa, vita brevis”

Another Summer Passes

Inebriated one fine summer day.

Utterly intoxicated one fine summer afternoon.

Summer has officially come to a close, although you would hardly realize it if you were to venture outside in Florida. The humidity remains stifling, insects are ubiquitous, and the heat is oppressive. Autumn is not recognizable in this state until mid to late November at the earliest, and even then it is only in terms of a slightly lower temperature. Many Floridians, myself included, think of the beautiful fall foliage and temperate conditions the rest of the country experiences this time of year with great envy. So, if you are fortunate enough to reside in a state with marked seasonal changes, do not take it for granted. Roll in the leaves with a loved one, drink hot apple cider, visit a pumpkin patch, all that fun stuff.

The high points of my summer included going to my nephew’s preschool graduation, visiting my sister—after not seeing her in quite a while, having the pleasure of introducing St. Augustine to my lovely girlfriend, and spending time with my family. I was not able to do much, but the little I did was very fulfilling.

As insensitive as it may sound, among the low points this summer was not experiencing another hurricane. I have been yearning for one to strike this state for the last several years, only to be consistently disappointed. It is not the destruction that I take pleasure in, but rather the mass hysteria and disarray I find enjoyable; the extreme weather is also wonderfully exciting. (And before someone accuses me of exemplifying white male privilege, or what have you, let me assure my audience that I have endured hurricanes in relatively poor dwellings throughout my life; it is not as though my desire is a consequence of living in sturdy, expensive infrastructure.) Watching the ominous dark clouds spin in from the coast while feeling the wind gusts progressively intensify is uniquely exhilarating.

Another disappointment was the Scottish referendum to exit the Unite Kingdom being defeated due to the fear mongering tactics of Westminster. John Maclean was surely rolling in his grave at the despicable outcome of September 18th.

Economic conditions failed to unfold as I predicted they would, but I feel my hypothesis, while falsified in terms of the timeline I provided, remains sound nonetheless. The underlying cause of the crisis, i.e., a declining rate of profit, has not been addressed, nor do I think it would be politically viable to destroy capital on the scale necessary to return to a period of economic growth. Keynesian policies will continue to kick the proverbial can down the road, but a precipitous decline is inevitable.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

